Outlook Permission Levels
Outlook has many different permission levels for sharing parts of your account, such as your tasks or calendar. These levels are the same throughout all parts of Outlook.
Full permission means the user can Read, Edit, and Delete a file or folder. The following three Permission Levels allow the granted person to delete files in the folder you give them access to. Use with caution.
- Owner - This grants FULL permission to the selected folder. Typically a bad idea.
- Publishing Editor - This also grants FULL permission to the selected folder, but it does not change who "owns" the folder. Be careful when using this option (useful if other people need to organize your folder)
- Editor - This grants FULL permission, except for the ability to create new folders. Good for basic calendar sharing.
The following two Permission Levels allow the granted person to edit/delete only files they have created.
- Publishing Author - Similar to Publishing Editor, except the granted user cannot delete files (or appointments) you have created.
- Author - Similar to Editor, except the granted user cannot delete files (or appointments) that you have created.
The following four Permission Levels grant minimal access to your folder.
- Nonediting Author - The user can create items (not folders), but cannot edit anything. They can delete items that they have created.
- Reviewer - The user can see folders, but not sub-folders.
- Contributor - The user can create items.
- None - The user has no permissions (That is why the Default user is setup with the Permission Level: None).